Joel Parkinson had the best score of the day Joel Parkinson had the best score of the day Photo: WSL

Related items

Monday, 13 July 2015 00:00

J-Bay delivers and great scores arrive

Great day for goofy footers in an event historically dominated by regular surfers.

Only one goofyfooter has won the Championship Tour (CT) event in South Africa -- Mark Occhilupo (AUS) in 1984 -- but during Round 2 and the opening heats of Round 3, aggressive backhand attacks led to some of the biggest scores: At day's end, the goofyfooters had claimed seven of the contest's 12 nine-point rides.


Of the 12 goofyfooters in the draw, seven remain in contention for the event title, and, so far, only one -- Freddy Patacchia (HAW) -- has fallen to a regularfooter. Three have already earned a direct advance to Round 4.


Other standouts included Joel Parkinson (AUS), a former J-Bay champ and last year's runner-up, who earned the highest heat total of the contest so far -- an 18.84 -- compliments of two rides in the nine-point range. Other rankings shakeups included early exits for World No. 6 Taj Burrow(AUS), who was eliminated by injury replacement Alejo Muniz (BRA) in Round 2, and Wright, World No. 3, in Round 3.

J-Bay Open Round 2 Results

Heat 1: Adriano De Souza (BRA) 14.33, Slade Prestwich (ZAF) 13.04
Heat 2: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 12.00, Michael February (ZAF) 8.00
Heat 3: Owen Wright (AUS) 16.17, Tomas Hermes (BRA) 13.77
Heat 4: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 18.13, Taj Burrow (AUS) 15.83
Heat 5: Nat Young (USA) 17.10, Brett Simpson (USA) 12.10
Heat 6: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 15.96, Dusty Payne (HAW) 15.16
Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 16.00, Glenn Hall (IRL) 10.44
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 18.84, Ricardo Christie (NZL) 18.13
Heat 9: Adam Melling (AUS) 14.90, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 8.03
Heat 10: Kai Otton (AUS) 18.10, Jadson Andre (BRA) 17.07
Heat 11: Wiggoly Dantas (BRA) 17.77, Miguel Pupo (BRA) 15.23
Heat 12: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 14.80, Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 13.93

J-Bay Open Round 3 Results

Heat 1: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 15.50, Owen Wright (AUS) 15.40
Heat 2: Kai Otton (AUS) 15.50, Italo Ferreira (BRA) 12.83
Heat 3: Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.94, Freddy Patacchia Jr. (HAW) 8.40
Heat 4: Nat Young (USA) 16.87, Adam Melling (AUS) 8.03

J-Bay Open Round 3 Match-Ups

Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)
Heat 6: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 7: Mick Fanning (AUS), CJ Hobgood (USA)
Heat 8: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 10: Josh Kerr (AUS), Keanu Asing (HAW)
Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 12: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Scroll To Top