Related items

Sunday, 25 December 2016 20:01


Asian Surfing Championships Celebrates 2016 Champions at The Lawn in Canggu


The 2016 Asian Surfing Championships celebrated this 23 December, at The Lawn in Canggu the Asia’s 2016 surfing champions at the 6th annual ASC Awards party.

The party started with an exceptional entertaining video produced by Sean Gilhooley that chronicled the exploits, wins, and fails experienced by the ASC surfers this year as they traveled Asia to stops in Indonesia (Mentawai Islands, Bali, West Sumbawa, Rote Island, and Pacitan) the Philippines, and Taiwan on the Men’s and Womens tour, and also stops on the Junior Boys and Girls tours.

A important Speach by Tipi Jabrik:
Of special note is that 4 of the 8 men’s events on the ASC tour this year were dual sanctioned with the World Surf League, and in his speech after the video ASC President Tipi Jabrik announced that in 2017 he and Tim Hain would be working under the new WSL Asia to develop World Qualifying Tour events in the Asian region, while the ASC would continue to support boardriders, juniors, and other specialty events in the region as its focus.

Winning Event of the Year was the Mentawai Pro presented by Rip Curl, which was held at Lance’s Right and saw 2016 ASC Champion Dede Suryana surf a perfect heat in the semifinals, nailing two 10 points waves for a perfect 20 point heat score.  Australia’s Chris Zaffis was the ultimate winner, with Dede coming in a close second place.  It was arguably the best WQS 1000 rated event in history, and fortunately the webcast managed to work on the last day when the waves were absolutely pumping, garning heaps of media attention.  Accepting the award on behalf of the Mentawai government and Rip Curl was James Hendy and Dhanny. Many thanks to Ibu Desti and her team in the Mentawai Islands for sponsoring the event.

This year’s champions were then called up to receive their trophies and prizes from ASC Judge Wayan “Leon” Suandhi and ASC’s Tim Hain, including custom surfboards from Channel Islands, Chilli Surfboards, and Luke Studer Surfboards, and fins from FCS and Shapers.

Men’s Open Division Champion:  Dede Suryana from Cimaja, West Java – received Rp 10 million in cash, two Luke Studer surfboards, two sets of Shapers fins, and 1 set of FSC fins

Women’s Division:  Nilbie Blancada from Siargao Island, Philippines – received Rp 5 million in cash, 1 Chilli surfboards,  two sets of Shapers fins, and one set of FCS fins

Junior Boys Division: Ketut Agus from Kuta, Bali – received Rp 2.5 million in cash, 1 Channel Islands surfboard, and 3 sets of FCS fins

Junior Girls Division:  Dhea Natasya from Kuta, Bali – received Rp 2.5 million in cash, 1 Chilli surfboard, and 3 sets of FCS fins.

Nilbie Blancada from the Philippines couldn’t appear for logical reasons,  and accept her trophy in person, but she did send a video thanking the ASC and telling the audience how much being the first Filipina women to win an ASC championship means to her.

After a round of applause from the audience and numerous photos ops with the winners, the evening continued with more drinks and music until it was lights out at just after midnight.

The ASC thanks Desti Seminora and the Government of the Mentawai Islands, the Komune Beach Club, the Government of West Sumbawa and the West Sumbawa Boardriders/Lensa Pulau Sumbawa, Quiksilver Indonesia and the Australian Consulate General, the Pacitan Government and the Pacitan Surf Club, the Government of Surigao Del Norte and the Mayor of General Luna, the Nemberala Beach Club/Boa Beach Club and Billabong, and the Taitung County Government/Peace Marketing for their making these events possible and inviting the ASC to be a part of them all.


  • Photo credit: Photos by Joey Griffiths

Scroll To Top