Wednesday, 01 August 2018 03:04


54 surfers participated in this year’s Quiksilver Uluwatu Challenge, which was run in the Eddie Aikau 6-person heat format....

...where each surfer competes in two 30-minute heats and their two highest scores from their four best waves were then scored and totaled.

In by far the most epic wave conditions of any of the 5 previous Quiksilver Uluwatu Challenges, Bali’s Tipi Jabrik bested the 54-strong field of local and international legends, punters, and pro’s to add his name to the perpetual Quiksilver Uluwatu Challenge trophy.  Competing in the event and on hand to present the trophy were Quiksilver Legends Simon Anderson and Jeff Hakman, who together with Matt Hoy were there to support Quiksilver’s efforts of creating awareness of Bali’s environmental issues.

Jabrik was last year’s Quiksilver Uluwatu Challenge runner up, having posted the highest wave score of the day, a 9.5 (out of a possible 10 points) in his Heat 2 effort, but couldn’t post an additional big score to overtake Made Switra, the eventual winner. 


Photo Gallery by San Schmid and Terry Houston

Related items

Scroll To Top